Outside the Window

At lunch my colleague. ” What do you do when you get up from the bed”? 

For me, the answer is looking Outside the Window. 


There was a pause for a second or longer. The person who asked me this question was expecting something around checking the phone. 

My answer was not a predictable one and I knew what would be the follow-up question. 

Why do you look outside the window?. 

Well, three primary reasons are:

1. Thank GOD for giving yet another beautiful morning 

2. Can I go and get some fresh air – Walk or Run? 

And, 

3. The third is basically a self-check as reported by Weather Channel. The famous saying,”Trust but verify”.  

Talking of weather takes me back many years ago. When I came to Chicago first thing they told me there is only two seasons – Winter and Constructions. In other words – Once the long Winter is over, the construction seasons starts mainly on roads. Well, that is not entirely true primarily there is not infinite budget and global warming.

For instance last week the average temperature at this time of the year was 20 degree  above and caused many hurricanes and lifes  down south.

Remember, last Saturday on January 20 we had day temperature in 70’s – Who would sit at home or go work in an office. I did go out and ran to encash the day. 

What did you say someone also went to office? Yes, they did as it was planned a week ahead. The good thing the person was also looking Outside the (Microsoft) Window and it’s called UNIX. Interesting, isn’t it? 

UNIX is an interesting topic and I have worked on multiple projects. Will write about it in coming days. 

For now, I will support my looking outside the window by what Dale Carnegie said, ” One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon-instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our windows today”

One thought on “Outside the Window

Leave a Reply

