Out of Place 

Flashback: 9 years back most of used things – one used to buy by going to Craigslist. Now, we have so many sites and they can be shipped. You will all agree the list of Craig was the first one and popular one. 

Today, when I went to check something it took me to the memory lane and place which then seemed totally Out of Place flashbacked in front of me. 

It was cold January of 2008 and I was looking for some used Blackberry phone to take it to India for one of my friend. 

Over Internet the look and price seemed to be alright. The only thing it was many miles from my place. Since it was for my friend. distant did not matter and spoke over the phone to the (supposedly) owner of the blackberry and decided to meet at a Coffee and Donut place instead of front yard of person home. 


I reached on time even after taking a wrong exit. I wanted to go to rest room but this place did not have one for their customer. It was real bad and unusual not to have for customer.  Everything seemed to be out of place to me from the people hanging out there and my heart rate was going up every second. I called the number and a person raised the hand sitting on next seat. I was shown the phone and it looked something not what I envisioned. I was very nervous and wanted to move out of the place as quick as I could. At this point, I remember the quote of Swami Vivekananda which gave me some positive vibe ” Be not afraid, for all great power throughout the history of humanity has been with the people. From out of their ranks have come all the greatest geniuses of the world, and history can only repeat itself. Be not afraid of anything. You will do marvelous work”. 

I asked for the phone and  reason for selling. The answer was not very compelling yet I was about to write a price for the total amount. I heard its only cash. I said I have 60% of the asking price. The person pointed me for ATM and I said, I have no ATM cards. We were at a point where we both realizing the old saying, ” Cash  is a King”. I purchased the phone and walked with confidence and never looked back till I got into the car. I even forgot I had to go to the restroom. 

My next stop after many miles was to an Oasis on a highway for a bio break and caliber my breathing. 

Well that’s all from my side. Have you been to place which seemed, ” Out of Place”. Would love to hear your story in the comment. 

#outofplace

#cashisking

Leave a Reply

