My First Apprentice

via Daily Prompt: Apprentice

They say you can always connect dots in past, not in future. I got my first Apprentice in one of the most renowned publishers Bennett Coleman & Co. Ltd, India’s largest media conglomerate, ( The Times Group). They publish the newspaper and many other magazines.

I was there for six months and my project was to code in C++ to Print Preview the newspaper in the Monitor rather the old way of first printing in Typesetter and then proofread. I had a mentor who had a Project Plan for me with a milestone and outcome.

The publication office was a fun place as I met many Editors and loved their lifestyle. Some of them loved my job of programming. My professor came at the end who I presented my work as this Apprenticeship was part of my course.

The professor really liked the work, my presentation and it did surpise others as I was awarded the no 1 Apprentice in my class. I believe I can connect the dot what interest me to write. Well, it goes beyond the publications office – may be from my childhood but some of us did not see the potential or may be I did not read the quote from Will Smith then…”You got a dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you, you can’t do it. If you want something, go get it. Period.”

mon1

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/apprentice/

Leave a Reply

