Did you put food bag under the mailbox? 

People who live in suburb can relate to Bedroom Community – it’s the term which I came to know from one of my colleague who told me is used for people living in the suburbs. My colleague lives in Downtown. 

Today, when I woke up and opened the curtains- I saw my neighbor has put the postal donation bag under the mailbox. This reminded today is the day – the second Saturday in May when postal personnel collect these bags, sort those food and supply to the needy people. 

They say:

Every second Saturday in May, letter carriers in more than 10,000 cities and towns across America collect the goodness and compassion of their postal customers, who participate in the NALC Stamp Out Hunger National Food Drive — the largest one-day food drive in the nation.
To donate, just place a box or can of non-perishable food next to your mailbox before your letter carrier delivers mail on the second Saturday in May. The carrier will do the rest. The food is sorted, and delivered to an area food bank or pantry, where it is available for needy families.

 


Got this Thank You Note for doing my part. 

5 thoughts on “Did you put food bag under the mailbox? 

  1. This is such a great idea! I wish my town would take that one! May is National food drive month but you have to go to specific locations to participate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

