Novice Runner

I was drawn to serious running by friends who kept pushing me by asking the same question every time till I signed for my half marathon along with them.

A novice or a neophyte runner like me who can go for 5k, 10K or 21K run went through practice and training. If I can do anyone can do it and here are some of the benefits you will see:
1. Your negative emotions will fade away.
2. Mindfulness being your friend.
3. Improve on immune…even 36F would look a nice day for a run.
4. Increase in overall well being.

Running is about being in present…you will start listening to your mind, body, and soul. Here is a quick run checklist
a. Run 3 to 5 times in a week.
b. Check weather… too cold or too hot is something to avoid.
c. Dress accordingly
d. Stretch if not before…sure after the run.
e. A smile.

Let me know about a run story!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/neophyte

11 thoughts on “Novice Runner

  1. #1 and #2 are so true. There are times when I’m training hard that there is only room in my mind to pay attention to my breathing. Everything else, problems, worries, thoughts, all slip away…

    I’m having a hard time getting back in to it here in the south but I am hopefully only here another week before returning home…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I agree. Running is about being present. During my later running days and marathon training I used to run through farming areas and homes brimming with gardens. I think this is where I first became really in landscape design and gardening. I could analyze the yards over time and then before I knew it. my running was done. I always liked running, it never seemed like running and instead a trek though neighbor hoods. I did enjoy competitive running for many years too. Thanks Sunil. Donna.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

